Todd Jones Confirmed

July 31st, 2013

Former Minnesota US Attorney Todd Jones has been confirmed by the Senate to be permanent director of the BATFE. Despite concerns over Jones' record as US Attorney, the Senate voted 53-42 for confirmation. Among the "ayes" were Mark Kirk (R-IL.), Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.), Susan Collins (R-ME.), Lindsay Graham (R-SC.), John McCain (R-AZ.) and Lisa Murkowski (R-AK).

The Bureau has been without a permanent director since Carl Truscott left under a shadow of ethics and budget violations in 2006. Despite the Bureau having to skimp on things like routine vehicle maintenance, he felt it necessary to spend $300,000 redecorating his office. …